Tags

, , , ,

image

It’s always amazed me how differently people who are close to us treat us compared to others we know casually. 

Take for example, during my last exam, I’d turned in my paper along with everyone else only to revise and realise that I might have made a minor error in a calculation that I might be penalised for. I was naturally very tense for a while. Here’s how two later conversations went. First, with someone I know casually in my department and my VERY good friend, Dammy (pictured above with me) 

Person I know casually : Tokoni, what’s wrong? You look sad. 

Me: I might have put my answer for question 3A in the wrong unit. I’m praying Mr. David (my statistics professor) won’t fail me. 

Person I know casually : Don’t worry. He will understand it was an honest mistake. Cheer up.

Me: *Feels better *

Then in the case of Dammy: 

Dammy : What’s up? You look sad. 

Me: I might have put my answer for question 3A in the wrong unit. I’m  praying Mr. David (my statistics professor) won’t fail me. 

Dammy : And so? Look at this strange fellow! Is it because of that minor thing you’re sad? Many people couldn’t even answer the question and you want to kill yourself? If you like, die of worry! I will come to your funeral and eat Rice and chicken. 

Me: * hangs mouth open and wonders what just happened * 

image credit: @inspiredfashio1

