Tags

, , , , , , ,

image

Hi!

Today we have an interview with Scottish  poet, Kenneth Steven, author of the new collection, Coracle. He’s answering the same set of questions as our last poet and gives a fresh view on the matter. 

BI: Could you tell us about yourself and how you got into poetry?

KS: I began to write when I was in the last years of school; I was very
much encouraged by good English teachers. By the time I was at
University in Glasgow I was writing a great deal. Poetry was always my
first love, though I’m very much a novelist and a children’s author
too.

BI: Would you agree that interest in poetry outside the classroom is dying?

KS: I’m not sure that I would agree that poetry outside the classroom is
dying! I see a lot of exciting developments here in Scotland and in
the UK generally. The poetry market is certainly small and a struggle
for publishers, and too many of those who attend readings are writers
themselves. But I don’t have any fears that poetry is on its last
legs.

BI: How do you feel that poetry could be promoted to a newer, younger
audience?

KS: Many of the events I run are with musicians: guitarists, flautists,
pianists and others. I think this is one way of making poetry more
attractive to a younger audience (to any audience). I think that
having poetry readings in more unusual locations is one way forwards,
and I think that dynamic music and poetry sessions is another.

BI: Who are your literary influences?

KS: Too many to mention! Great lyric poets in particular: Wallace Stevens,
Seamus Heaney, Ted Hughes, Edwin Muir. These are just a few of the
many.

Also everyone, a volume of Kenneth’s selected poems, Second Nature, can be found on Kindle (be sure to check it out). 

You can find out more on his site, www.kennethsteven.co.uk

Thanks!

